text { color: #FFF; } texter { color: #FFF; } .text { color: #FFF; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; } centertext { text-align: center; } .textcenter { text-align: center; } body { background-color: #600; } .text tr td table .content td { text-align: center; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; } .cappys { font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; } .cappys { font-style: italic; font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; } .text tr td table .cappys td div { font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; } a:link { color: #FFF; } a:visited { color: #FFF; }


Though you wouldn't know it from watching the nightly news, there aren't really that many dictators left in this world. All of Latin and South America is now democratic, as well as all of Europe, and even significant chunks of Africa.

The dictators that remain are rarely over-the-top Idi Amin style despots. Most of today's tyrants are not flamboyant military strongmen, but rather the leaders of a corrupt one-party state hierarchy. The days when dictators would try to impress their subjects with their lavish medals and statues appear to be over; today's dictators wear tailored suits and try to project an image of "modernity" as they lobby to bring western money into their countries (and their pockets).

That being said, there are a few holdouts, a few remaining "old school" style tyrants who enjoy parading around in uniforms full of gold braid and epaulets. Most of these regimes are on their way out however. Soon the clichéd image of the uniform-wearing dictator will only exist in the history books.

Pervez Musharraf - Pakistan
Robert Mugabe - Zimbabwe
Muammar Qaddafi - Libya
Bashar al-Assad - Syria
François Bozizé - Central African Republic
Than Shwe - Burma
Joseph Kabila - Democratic Republic of the Congo
Hosni Mubarak - Egypt
Ely Ould Mohamed Vall - Mauritania

Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo - Equatorial Guinea

Omar Hassan Ahmad al-Bashir - Sudan
Maumoon Abdul Gayoom - Maldives
Fidel Castro - Cuba
Raul Castro - Cuba
Surayud Chulanont - Thailand
Voreqe Bainimarama - Fiji
Alexander Lukashenko - Belarus